New Chair and Deputy for Committee for Greater Shepparton

Published Jul 14, 2022 by Lindy Nieuwenhuizen

Leigh Findlay & Sarah Thomson 4

Leigh Findlay of CAF Consulting and Sarah Thomson of Goulburn Valley Water are the new Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for Greater Shepparton (C4GS). The Board of the member funded advocacy body has also expanded with the appointment of Andrew Mann, of AC Foods.

“Under the leadership of David McKenzie, Rob Priestly and most recently Lesley Hart our organisation has grown to represent more than 120 member businesses, community organisations and public agencies from across the Greater Shepparton region,” said Leigh.

“It’s a great privilege to lead the Committee into its next decade and provide a voice to all levels of Government on the exciting opportunities and the issues that matter to our region,” said Leigh.

After three years as the Board Chair, Lesley Hart of Dawes and Vary has stepped down but continues as a member of the Board alongside fellow board members Jane Macey of SPiire, Sonke Tremper of GizaBreak, and Damion O’Callaghan of CPE Construction.

“Lesley’s exceptional leadership across a very challenging few years has ensured the Committee ends its first decade in great shape,” said Leigh.

Looking forward Leigh said that like most of regional Australia, Shepparton has some genuine housing, workforce and transport challenges.

“But alongside these are so many positive indicators for our region. From local renewable energy generation to the ongoing investment in existing and emerging ag industries and manufacturing, as well as the development of Shepparton’s health and education services and infrastructure.”

“We have some genuine strengths that align beautifully with where Australia needs to move in coming years and have the potential to deliver solid career opportunities in and for our region,” said Leigh.

Incoming Deputy Chair Sarah Thomson believes C4GS has played an important role in building Shepparton’s reputation and influence with state and federal governments and policy makers.

“Our region is extremely well positioned for the future and I am really looking forward to continuing the Committee’s great work that will help our region and people realise our full potential.”

AC Foods General Manager (Australian Operations) Andrew Mann has joined the Board bringing his expertise in agriculture and rural banking.

“Our Board is well connected with the region’s strengths and we are looking forward to working with our recently appointed CEO Lindy Nieuwenhuizen, the wider membership, and our elected representatives including our former CEO and Member for Nicholls Sam Birrell to support the region’s ongoing success,” said Leigh.

Lindy Nieuwenhuizen

Lindy Nieuwenhuizen

CEO, Committee for Greater Shepparton


Connections make for strong communities


Possible Sale of Land for Affordable Housing


Reflecting on a Nation…

Great Careers & Lifestyle

Careers that Call us Home

Take a seat at the table.
Be part of the conversation.
Lead by influence.

Related Articles


10 Year Celebration


C4GS disappointed by Federal Government decision to axe GV Bypass funding